Last year I watched Master Chef with Gordon Ramsay, Joe Bastianich and Graham Elliot. I wanted to be on the show. I still might want to be on it but I don’t think I can handle that type of pressure.

In the very first episode where the contestants create their signature dish for the judges, one of them used a few drops of white truffle oil, in what I believe might’ve been, risotto.  The reaction to the oil was so incredibly painful. The judges went on and on about how neophyte using truffle oil was.

So I stopped using it myself. Because, God forbid, I was grouped into “that” category.

Even though it went so well with my fluffy pillows of sweet potato gnocchi and drizzled atop my super creamy mushroom risotto.

Well, that ended last week when I decided to fry up some crispy french fries. I couldn’t just top them with salt. I couldn’t just top them with some parmesan cheese. Oh no .. not even a little parsley was going to satisfy me.

If I was going to go out of my way to make my own crispy french fries, then I was going to top them with some white truffle oil.

Gosh darn it.

I did. And it was awesome.

I don’t care what Gordon, Joe or Graham said.  I’d tell them to their faces, too.

No. No, I probably wouldn’t.

But I would totally secretly continue to use my truffle oil.

So there.

