I decided to finally post something on my blog because .. well .. it’s the end the world. These will be my last words to the universe. Not really but in my mind the universe actually reads this thing.

IMG_6116

This year went by quick. We moved to Norfolk, Virginia from my beautiful island home of Hawaii and the transition hasn’t been too bad. I say that now but it has been 7 months. I’m sure my tone would’ve been different at month 2. I’ve managed to make some good friends here through the Yelp community and one of my neighbors (now a friend) who actually watches Dante for us when we’re out.

We’re heading to California tomorrow (that is if the world doesn’t end while we’re asleep tonight) to celebrate Christmas with family.  I’m really excited to spend the holidays with them.

I will miss Dante though. I can’t remember spending a Christmas without him since he’s come into my life almost 5 years ago. I know he’ll be cared for while we’re gone. I just hope he doesn’t cause too much trouble. Because as you all know .. My kid is the biter. He’s the kid in preschool that always gets in trouble for biting the other kids because he doesn’t know how to use his words. But only with other animals. He’s a perfect angel to the humans.

IMG_5847

On another note, Dante and I started volunteering. He was certified as a Therapy Dog earlier this year (before I left Hawaii). He’s pretty popular at the USO where all the Sailors and Marines coming back from a long deployment hang out until they get to go home. He’s even more popular with the kids at the elementary school we volunteer at on a weekly basis for the Listening Ears program.

ListeningEars

This little girl stole my heart and sometimes my laptop. She’s so damn cute and she’ll be going to a wonderful family who has a cat and will love her to pieces. The story is long and sad .. and though I would prefer never to live it again nor talk about it, I will say that there are some Veterinarians in this world who’s bottom line isn’t saving lives as much as it is money.

IMG_6102

photo 3 (2)

We went to New York to visit my sister and her husband over Thanksgiving. We spent a good long week there and it was wonderful. TG had never been to NYC and I was more than happy to play tour guide. Though I had to tell him often to stop “acting like a tourist.” HA!

My little fur niece and nephew (Dante’s son) are so cute. And no .. they didn’t actually drink the beer. They just sat there like good little chickens.

NieceNephew

I also made cookies again this year though not as many as I have in the years past. I did manage to make 8 varieties though and only take pictures of 2. Haven’t you learned anything from past food posts?

I made a Mexican Chocolate Snickerdoodle and wow does this cookie have a kick. I think I may have added more cayenne than the recipe called for because I like the pain. Not really .. They’re actually a little too spicy for me but I’m sure someone likes them.

Snickerdoodles

The second cookie pictured is a cranberry pistachio almond biscotti and those turned out great. Really buttery and noms. Plus I don’t bake and bake until they’re super dry and hard. They really are kind of perfect.

Biscotti

TG got me a new lense for Christmas and I’ve been taking pictures like crazy.

Poinsettias

Reduction

We invited another couple over for dinner and I decorated the table and just got Holiday Fancy. I LOVE the new lense and I adore my Holiday table, too.

Table

I guess that pretty much sums up the last 7 months. We’re doing well. TG loves his job. I love my job. Dante is as grumpy as ever. HAHAHA.

Wishing you all a very Merry Christmas and a wonderfully prosperous New Year! From our Family to Yours. Don’t mind that look of utter disdain on Dante .. he really is Joyful.

Christmas2012_eCard_3