Do you remember that movie by Disney called Lilo and Stitch? Do you remember hearing the word Ohana? Well, here in Hawaii, that word means Family. But when you tell someone you are going to a family reunion it means that you will see atleast 4 generations of people gathered together with one common bond. The bond of Ohana.

Well, I have family all over Hawaii. Most of which I’m pretty sure I’ve never met but I know they are scattered throughout all the islands.

My Family (atleast part of it)

A few weekends ago, my dad and I were invited to one of my Aunty’s house for a family gathering. Her granddaughter was heading back to Arizona with the kids and husband after a lengthy and annual summer vacation. Keep in mind, I haven’t seen most of this family since my sister’s wedding, 3 years ago. But when you go to a family gathering here in Hawaii, it’s almost like you never left. That you’ve always been apart of the family and you still get the same big hugs and kisses on the cheek that you’ve always gotten.

That and tons of food. Potluck. Local style. You don’t go away hungry and there is always enough food for everyone to take food home. And best of all, you get to listen to old stories about old times with the older generations. That, and if your family is anything like mine, you get to listen to your uncle playing his guitar, your aunty playing her ukulele and one of the kids playing this cool banjo thing made out of a metal drum, a huge stick and a piece of string. It was a perfect Saturday afternoon with generations of Ohana.

Aunty Baby, Aunty Pretty & Aunty J.

