Ok. This past long weekend I decided to attempt my first food blog entry.  Apparently, I was not prepared for the actual step by step process. Having to stop along the way to take pictures of each step and not to mention the fact that I don’t have recipes for most things I cook made this whole thing sorta moot. But I tried. I wanted to take pretty colorful pictures of fresh ingredients.

Fresh Ingredients (except for the canned stuff to the right)

I wanted my first ever food blog entry to be this amazing experience. It wasn’t so much amazing as it was proof that I was definitely not prepared for this next venture into blogdom. Not for lack of trying, mind you. Good intentions often lead to …(however that cliched saying goes) but I will definitely blame something. I can’t figure out what that is just yet .. but it might end up being my faithful cutting board. My poor reliable cutting board had no idea what was coming.

I love this cutting board and my knife (when its sharpened)

So the outcome of yesterday morning’s attempt at a Black Bean & Corn Salsa was a partially chronicalled telling and picture taking of something so basic. So fresh. So fantastic and fat free. And it all ended with this picture. A colorful picture of an unfinished dish. Why? You ask? Well …because I forgot to take a picture of the final product. 

The least blurry of all the pictures ..

 The freshness speaks for itself. Even if the freshness is blurred by my lame attempt at photography and food styling.

If you want. Here’s the ingredients and a sorta basic not well measured recipe.

Black Bean Salsa
1 can Black Beans
1 can Corn
1 Lime (juiced)
1/2 diced Red Bell Pepper
1 finely diced Jalapeno or Serrano Pepper
2 Tbls Fresh Cilantro
1/4 diced Red Onion
Kosher Salt to taste

Throw it in a bowl. Refrigerate to chill. Eat with chips or with salad or spoon the stuff right into your mouth straight from the fridge. This is one of those uber healthy snacks. Full of fiber and flavor. And absolutely no fat added!

