As the 1st child in my family, being a family of 2 daughters one mother and my dad (who grills an awesome kalbi which my mom makes) I have decided to take on the long tradition of mastering the grill (usually passed on from father to son). Its not easy, going from stove to oven to grill but gosh darnit .. Someone needs to carry on the line. Right? RIGHT?

Last Saturday was the first night for me. I hadn’t even turned the thing on until a few weeks ago and now.. I’ve grilled rosemary, salt and peppercorn crusted rack of lamb and some asparagus on that grill.

Cut through just like buttah...

Let me tell you, it definitely wasn’t as easy as I thought it would be. First of all .. Wanting to turn the gas up to get the fire going to get a good sear on the meat, I instead turned the fire down. My father stopped by to check on the status of the lamb and well .. asked me if I had meant to turn it down. UGH! Ok ok .. so now I know. Up arrow means UP fire. Even with that setback, the lamb came out succulent and perfectly seasoned.

Simple Rub.

First I guestimated how many springs of rosemary to cut off my jungle of a rosemary bush. If anyone needs any fresh rosemary, please let me know! I have more than I will ever need. EVER. But as it turns out, lamb is the one meat that can take a whole bunch of this herb. Good thing I have a jungle, huh? For the package of meat (sorry!!! .. I can’t remember the weight), I crushed about 1/4 cup of multicolored peppercorns, chopped 4 sprigs of rosemary (peel the leaves off the stem) and poured in about 2 tablespoons of kosher salt. Mix that baby up in a bowl and start rub’n.

Cut into cute lil steak lollipops.

I stuck it in the fridge for a little bit (because I was anxious and started this earlier in the day) but definitely take it out about 15 minutes before putting it on the grill. Lets the meat relax a little bit. While the lamb was chill’n I decided to make some “I’m not German Potato Salad” because we had some left-over roasted baby reds. I know its not a real german potato salad .. mainly because of the rice wine vinegar (japanese ingredient) and sweet onion (local to Hawaii) but it did have potato and the requisite vinegar type of base. In my head it was all I needed in order to make my “I’m not German Potato Salad.”

Finished Product .. because I'm not good at taking pictures

First I started with a mixture of light mayo, buttermilk, apple cider vinegar, rice wine vinegar, salt and pepper .. mixed it up and then dropped in my quartered roasted baby reds, 1 chopped green onion, 1/4 rough diced sweet onion and 1 tablespoon of chopped fresh italian parsley (because that is the only other herb I have growing in my garden .. and its alive). Mixed it up. Added some mustard (because I’m not actually sure what goes into a german potato salad) and viola! “I’m not German Potato Salad” Because I’m asian. For the most part. Asian and Polynesian. And I think I need to pay more attention when a celeb chef makes it on the foodnetwork.

I did that...

I also made a killer balsamic reduction sauce made from reducing some balsamic vinegar till its tangy and sweet and syrupy and then dropping in a load of unsalted butter and finishing it off with a dash of kosher salt (just a little .. don’t want to kill the sweetness of the reduction). Drizzle some of that over the lamb and asparagus and there you have it folks. My first real time on the grill. And it really doesn’t scare me as much as it used to. Atleast that’s what I tell myself so I can sleep at night. HA!

Still figuring plating vege meat ratio. But YUM!

