Ok. I forgot to take pictures of my Thanksgiving Feast. And I’ll tell ya .. it came out fantastic! I brined a turkey and smoked that baby for about 7 hours. The side dishes were made up of the standards like; green bean casserole, mashed potatoes, mushroom & sausage cornbread dressing and I like to do a cheesy creamed corn dish. I also made some tangerine cranberry sauce (tangerine …because I used up all my oranges for the turkey brine). I took a chapter from the Pioneer Woman’s recipe and threw in a whole block of cream cheese to my taters (best idea .. EVER).

The table was set up with some pretty fall color napkins on my green hawaiian print table runner. So pretty and autumnal.

And I didn’t take one stink’n picture. Attempt at awesome Thanksgiving Blog Post FAIL. ugh .. but I did take a couple of pictures of a little something called .. Leftover Turkey Pot Pie.

The Players. Mostly. Not the plastic wrap though

And because I’m only a partial fail .. I only took one before (sorta .. not all ingredients are pictured) and lots of after photos.

mmm mmmm flaky.

Lots of leftover turkey, a stalk of celery or two, a can of corn and whatever else you didn’t get to use up making your thanksgiving dinner. If you know how to make a basic bechamel sauce, you’re good to go. That butter in the picture (oh you can’t see it? its the butter plate with the condensation .. right .. that one) was an herbed butter (also leftover) made up of chopped rosemary, sage, kosher salt and a few grinds of pepper. Got about 3 tablespoons of butter and a few more table spoons of olive oil into a pan.  Add a few tablespoons of flour, 1/4 teaspoon of salt, a few grinds of pepper and whisk. Go ahead. Make yourself a rue. Please let it cook for a few minutes and then add some heavy cream and 2% milk (continue to whisk). Meanwhile (because I’m sure you’re a great multitasker) …

Chop your veges:
1 stalk of celery
1/2 round onion
1/2 bell pepper
1/2 a large potato or 5 of them little tiny ones I got in that picture
1 clove of garlic
Leftover mushrooms that didn’t fit into your roasting pan for your mushroom and sausage cornbread dressing (not pictured because they were an afterthought)
Carrots (not pictured .. because we didn’t have any in the fridge)

Open cans:
1 can of corn

Dig around in the freezer:
frozen peas .. or if you have the mixed vegetable variety that’ll work, too!

With another pan, turn the burner on medium high add some olive oil and then the chopped veges. sweat’em out. Let them wilt a bit then throw them into your herby bechamel sauce along with the drained can of corn and a 1/2 cup of them frozen vegetables. Dice up some leftover turkey (I don’t care how much .. use as much as you want .. more if you need to get rid of the leftovers .. less if you really really need more turkey sandwiches) and throw them in the pan. Take 1/2 a block of cream cheese and throw that into the pan, too. Mix it all up. Then transfer to a casserole, pie, individual ramekins or whatever bakeable dish you want to use.

Right out of the oven

I only had some puff pastry sheets but please use a frozen premade pie crust or if you’re feeling ambitious, make your own. Me? I hate making pie crust. I don’t care how “easy” it is .. I despise rolling. So I buy the stuff. But you? You’re probably better than me.

Well, you are if you make your own pie crust.

Top the vessel which you just put your pie filling into with whatever crust you want to use. Then bake per the instructions for the crust or pastry sheet. Until browned. Since all the insides are cooked you just need to worry about cooking the outside.

I baked mine in ramekins.

Eat with a salad. or not. I did. Because it’s good for you.

And maybe because the rue makes me feel guilty.

