The Honolulu Marathon was just this past Sunday. And well .. I can run 2.5 miles but thats about all I’m good for. So, in honor of the Marathon I am calling this post my marathon baking post Extravaganza!

Counter: Right Side

This is what my counter has looked like since last Friday. As I have been baking off and on for the last 4 days and have another two days to go before I am done. I get sort of ambitious this time of year. Plus its more difficult to buy presents for everyone than it is to make them a treat delight of christmas confections! I am making a total of 12 items to be wrapped and stuffed into goodie bags or gift baskets. I have only finished 5. Suffice it to say I am behind schedule.

Counter: Left Side

Ambition. Most times Good. Sometimes Bad. This time .. I’ll have to get back to you.

These are the beginnings of a little something awesome called: Rumballs. Chocolaty. Rummy (or you can use whiskey or brandy or bourbon-y .. hmmm). I like to make these every year that I make Christmas goodies. I feel it is only fair for your fellow co-workers to be able to start celebrating early by partaking in 1 or 10 of these little beauties.

Note: I need a bigger food processor

You start with 9 oz of chocolate cookie wafers if you can find them. If you live in Hawaii, it is near impossible .. so you make due with something called Chocolate Penguins or any type of chocolate graham crackers. Pulse those up till they are nice and fine then transfer to a bowl. Then in the same processesor put in 3 cups of nuts. The recipe actually calls for one type of nut but they give you options. I chose options, so I put in a cup each of walnuts, pecans and slivered almonds. Pulse those up all fine, and transfer those to the bowl as well. Then add 2 cups of powdered sugar.

The liquids. Note: Need more rum.

The liquids. Just a 1/4 cup of each. You can use some not-lite corn syrup but I wanted to be healthy. HAHAHA. ok. Sorry .. It sounded good in my head. I use the rum a lot. Mostly for things like eggnog, spiked apple juice, rumballs and maybe to splash in some coke. See. Its a good year-round liquor.

Hold the phone! Is there a bad year-round liquor?

Rolled around in Powder Sugar

Mix the dough up really good and then roll into balls. And then roll the balls into powdered sugar. Store in an airtight container. More than likely, atleast it happens to me .. the sugar dissolves into the ball so I will usually save a little bit of powdered sugar and right before I pack them up, I’ll give them a good toss in the sugar. You should probably let them sit around for a few days so the rum can get all good and mingled in with the chocolate and nuts. It’s good stuff, I tell ya. Perfect for a mid-afternoon pick-me-up-OMG-I-need-a-drink-bad, kind of day.

