Ok. I am only highlighting two different items but in total I made 10. Final product will be featured in the 3 of 3 post.

So I made a little something called Caramel. Sorta. I think it is but I’m pretty sure I should’ve believed my candy thermometer.

Butter & Sugar. Good start.

 So you start with 2 sticks of butter and 2 1/4 cups of brown sugar. Technically I was supposed to start with melting the butter but I just didn’t feel a picture of melted butter was going to keep you all coming back.

Of course, I could be wrong. Melted butter would bring me back.

Now just add a can of sweetend condensed milk, 1 cup light corn syrup and a teaspoon of salt. Let it cook. On Medium. For .. forever.

The beginning

I wish forever didn’t take so long. I wish that I had believed my candy thermometer. The directions said to cook the caramel till it gets to the hardball stage. (This is called forshadowing)

It was on the stove for .. FOREVER!

Trust me. I know. I was there.

Not hardball stage

Then I poured it into a pan. And it looks like this. And I was happy.

If it looks like caramel

And then I made this. Got a cup of dark chocolate chips, added a few dashes of cinnamon and teaspoon of vegetable oil and microwaved it. 30 seconds at first and then 10 seconds at a time until it was all melted.

Scooped it onto the caramel (that I may or may not have cooled completely).

Wow. See? There’s something to say about patience. Apparently caramel is something only patient people should master.

Sprinkle with sea salt.

So this is where I realized that I should’ve believed my candy thermometer. Because I didn’t let it cook to the hardball stage and I took it out around softball stage, I ended up with a very tasty but very soft caramel. And my chocolate didn’t harden either.

Then I stuck the whole pan in the fridge.

And this is what it looks like now. Granted not the prettiest caramel you’ve ever laid eyes on, but it’s still really yummy.

Stick to your toof yummy.

