Did you know that? Its true. I should know. I’m half korean.

Being korean means you have 1 refrigerator dedicated to the storing of kimchi (normally found in the garage). If your mom was my mom, you’d have 2 dedicated refrigerators and the one in the kitchen would store a little bit more kimchi. When there is a kimchi shortage in the house bad things happen.

Again. Trust me.  Just ask any Korean.

Wars are won. Maidens are betrothed. Families are reunited. All because of kimchi.

I could be exaggerating. Just a little.

Last night I made meatloaf. Meatloaf laced with lots of chopped kimchi. It was fantastic!

Kimchi Meatloaf with Ginger Ketchup

I also forgot my camera (because I am a complete FAIL when it comes to remembering).

So my friend had to take a picture with his nifty iPhone 4.

The recipe goes a lil something like this:

Meatloaf Ingredients:
1.5 lbs ground beef
1 cloves minced garlic
1/2 a finely chopped onion
1.5 cups chopped kimchi (add juice, too)
1/4 cup plus 2 tbls low sodium soy sauce
1/8 cup plus 1 tbls sugar
1 Tbls sesame oil
1 Tbls sesame seeds
2 eggs
1/2 cup bread crumbs

Ginger Ketchup Ingredients:
1 tsp pulverized ginger
1 tsp worcestershire sauce
1 tsp soy sauce
1/2 cup ketchup

Directions:
Add all meatloaf ingredients into a bowl. Use your hands to mix it up. (It will be very very wet .. just go with it)

Put into loaf pan sprayed with cooking spray. Spoon ginger ketchup ontop of loaf.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Bake for 1hr to 1hr 15 minutes.

Note: At some point I will post more awesome dishes incorporating Korea’s national dish. Kimchi!

But for now, try this one. I think you might like it.

