My friend KK hosted a bridal shower party at my house. She’s the mother of twins. Which is why it was at my house.  And of course I volunteered to make brunch.

My friend .. KK ...Oh .. did I mention she has twins?

Why? Well, if you want the simple answer, it’s because I’m a control freak. If you want the more complex answer that basically ends with the simple answer, you’ll just have to ask me.

I also volunteered to feed my wonderful girlfriends and family because they are helping me finish off that 1001 crane deal. I had already folded 739 cranes. They helped me fold an additional 200 cranes or so, leaving me about 60 to fold on my own. And trust me .. 60 is a way more managable number than almost 300. In my head, at least.

Crane Folding - In Action!

*NOTE: I read somewhere that the bride and groom to be are supposed to fold these (together). Totally messed up when I told TG that it was only the bride to be. He’s making me stick to what I told him first. **breath** Patience and Longevity.** OOooommm….

The menu consisted of the following items:

  1. Cranberry Almond Orange scones
  2. Breakfast Quiche Squares
  3. Roasted Vegetable Quiche Squares
  4. Spanish Style Roasted Potatoes
  5. Green Salad
  6. Lemon Thyme Vinegarette
  7. Fruit Platter
  8. Kalamansi Orange and Cucumber water (I called it Spa water .. because it tasted like the kind of water they serve in the spas)

Looks like an extensive list, right? It’s not really. It just looks long. Here are some pictures that I did not take because I have a horrible camera.

Or. I take horrible pictures. I like to go with the first excuse though.

Orange Cranberry Almond Scones

Quiches. Fruits. Potatoes. Scones. Croissant. Malasadas.

I just realized that some of you may be wondering .. what’s a malasada? Well, in a few words its heavenly delightful and gloriously fattening. Also, it is a portugese donut. Specifically, a Leonard’s Malasada. Not to be confused by any other malasada cart/truck you might see because Leonard’s really is the best.

Spa Water. Cucumbers & Kalamansi orange/lemon juice

Even my mom and Han unnie showed up. Not to fold cranes, mind you. They just came over for the food.

Han unnie, Me and Mom

 **What the heck?  When did I decide it was ok to stop wearing makeup and fixing my hair???**

In fact, I really didn’t expect it but I am so more than thankful for KK helping me out when she has the time. Did I mention she’s a mother of twins? Girls. Almost 2. In other words, her hands are pretty full.

Gifts for the Crane Folders (Slave labor) heh... Thanks KK!

Background on me and KK: We’ve known eachother since 1994. We went to the University of Hawaii together and met at Newman Catholic Center on campus. We’ve remained friends, even with my moving all over the mainland.  She’s had the same cell phone number since she got a cell phone (I think). And I have always kept her number in my phone.

This is what happens when you over work your employees.

I’d like to introduce you to a few friends that I put to work that day. They helped a ton. Well, some of us had other talents and maybe weren’t meant for crane folding.

Sina & Noonan. Roomies. My Co-worker and my old neighbor from NYC.

Sina is so pretty. Thanks for the massages, Sina!

Nan & CChan. Yup. Sina really is that good.

Recipients of said massage. If you need a masseuse please let me know. Sina travels, is amazing and licensed!

I’m pimp’n my friend out because she’s totally worth it. Just ask TG. I got him a massage, too. And no. I do not get any kickbacks for referring people. I just think she does such a fantastic job.

Shower gifts. From KK. She's awesome.

I’d also like to thank my cousin’s who came to help (sorta … hahaha).

Sorry .. We’re blood. So it’s totally ok.

But really. I could not have gotten all of these done. I now have about 20 more to fold on my own to hit my goal!

Also. Just in: TG folded 1 crane! Which will also go into the bigger picture.

Dante's cone of shame. On Nan.

Yes. These are my friends.

No. I do not endorse humans wearing doggie cones (even the comfort cone).

Although, I’m pretty sure Dante was relieved to have it off and probably found it comforting that someone else had to chose to wear it.

