Revelation 1: I realized about a month ago that most of my cooking and food picture taking is done in the evenings.  After the sun has gone down and I have to make due with a single box light fixture and sorta white walls. Combined with my ineptitude with my SLR I have to rely on a point-and-shoot or my iPhone.

Best with Beer. or Soju.

Revelation 2: In order to fix the issues regarding Revelation 1, I should remember to take pictures of the things I cook on the weekends. That and maybe take a class in digital photography.

Missing an ingredient. per usual.

Revelation 3: I really really need to remember to put out all the ingredients when taking photos. The above photo, for instance, is missing the pork belly that made the dish so incredible! Doh!

Revelation 4: I love my Mom. That’s not really a revelation. I know.  But you see, my mom makes me fresh kimchi. She makes a batch of it and then puts some in a plastic jar and brings it to the house. If you have a mom who makes you fresh kimchi every month or so, don’t take it for granted. I am not looking forward to the day that I may not live in Hawaii and I will 1) have to learn to make my own (not likely) or 2) go to the store and buy it like I’ve done for so many years before moving back to Hawaii.

Which leads me to my final Revelation 5: I don’t want to leave Hawaii… or … I want to live near my mom. For like ever.

Porky Kimchi goodness

The recipe (inspired by eating and living: http://eatingandliving.blogspot.com/2010/10/dubu-kimchi-tofu-with-stir-fried-kimchi.html):

Pork belly (I didn’t measure .. I just cut up into sorta cubes how much I wanted to eat.. heh heh)
Kimchi (a little sour is great but not completely necessary)
1/2 onion sliced
1 green onion
1/2 tsp grated ginger
2 cloves minced garlic
1 tsp Korean hot pepper paste
1 tsp soy sauce
pinch of sugar
1/2 tsp sesame seed oil
1 block firm tofu

Combine all the ingredients in a bowl except kimchi and tofu (and let sit for a few minutes). Throw everything in the bowl into a frying pan. I like my bacon crispy so I cooked up the pork till it caramelized and then threw in the kimchi. Put a pot of water on the stove. Boil water and then carefully place the tofu into the pot.  It should take about 8 minutes or so to heat through.

Remove tofu block and cut in half. Then slice each half into about 1/3 inch slices. Becareful as the tofu will be hot.

Arrange the tofu on a plate with some space for the fried kimchi in the center. Sprinkle with a few sesame seeds and left over green onion (if you had some).